CAPF Medical Officer (GDMO/Specialist)
Treat paramilitary personnel and families in force hospitals, border camps and field postings.
Facts checked 29/10/2026
Is this for me?
- Being the doctor people depend on, in a close uniformed community
- Seeing a wide mix of cases, from routine illness to injuries
- Working in places most doctors never see, such as border posts and hill stations
- Postings can be remote, far from family, and can change at short notice
- Many posts are on contract, so job security is lower than a permanent post
- Long study (MBBS plus MD/MS for specialists) and the stress of heavy NEET competition
- Class 11–12 subjects
- Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry, Biology (or Biotechnology) and English, with at least 50% in PCB (40% for SC/ST/OBC, 45% for PwD), to be eligible for NEET UG and MBBS. You must be 17 by 31 December of the admission year (reported).
- First degree
- MBBS, 5.5 years including a 1-year compulsory internship, for GDMO posts. Specialist posts also need an MD/MS, DNB or PG diploma in the specialty.
- Entrance exams
- NEET UG (NTA) for MBBS. NEET PG for MD/MS if you want a specialist post. The 2026 CAPF doctor notices use a walk-in interview and a medical exam. They do not use a written test.
- Licence or registration
- Medical registration after the MBBS internship, with the State Medical Council or the National Medical Commission. Walk-in notices ask you to bring the registration certificate.
What the work is like
Treating jawans, officers and their families in force hospitals, battalion medical inspection rooms, training centres and border or field camps. Daily OPD, emergencies, referrals to bigger hospitals, health checks and medical camps. Specialists such as surgeons, gynaecologists, radiologists, pathologists, anaesthetists and ophthalmologists work in the larger Composite Hospitals.
A day in the work
You start in the force hospital or battalion medical room. You see jawans with fever, injuries, back pain or sugar problems, and you check families who come to the OPD. Mid-morning you may review a few admitted patients, sign fitness certificates, or send a serious case to a bigger hospital. In a camp posting you might be the only doctor for hundreds of people. You then also run health talks and first-aid training, and you stay on call for emergencies at night.
The full route: exams, training, registration
- Step 1 · Class 11–12Take Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English. Aim for at least 50% in PCB, because that is the minimum for MBBS (reported).
- Step 2 · Class 12Write NEET UG once a year. Your rank decides whether you get a government or private MBBS seat through counselling. NEET is compulsory for every MBBS seat in India (reported).
- Step 3 · 5.5 yearsStudy MBBS: 4.5 years of classes and hospital training, then a 1-year rotating internship. You need the internship done to register as a doctor. (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 4 · Only for specialist postsDo an MD/MS, DNB or PG diploma in a specialty such as surgery, radiology or pathology. A BSF 2026 notice asked specialists for 1.5 years of experience after a PG degree, or 2.5 years after a diploma (reported). (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 5 · Walk-in interviewWatch the forces' own recruitment sites (CRPF, BSF, SSB and others) for walk-in notices. Go in person on the date and at the centre listed. Take a plain-paper application, originals and photocopies of degrees, internship and registration certificates, age proof and photographs. In 2026 notices there was no written exam and no fee. No travel allowance (TA/DA) was paid for the interview. (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 6 · Medical examinationAfter the interview, a board of the force's medical officers checks your fitness. The appointment depends on you passing it (reported). (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 7 · Contract postingYou join on a contract at a hospital, battalion or training centre anywhere in India, including border areas. An SSB 2026 notice offered 3 years first, extendable yearly for up to 2 more (reported). (reported — check with the official body)
Ways in
- Contract walk-in (GDMO or Specialist)Who: MBBS with internship for GDMO. PG degree or diploma, plus experience, for specialist. This is the route the 2026 notices actually offer. Each force advertises its own walk-in dates, posts and centres. Posts are contractual (reported).
- UPSC CMS (a permanent doctor job, but not in the CAPFs)Who: MBBS holders, usually up to 32 years old (35 for some CHS posts) (reported). The 2026 CMS vacancies were in the Central Health Service, Railways, NDMC and Delhi municipal corporations. The CAPFs were not in that list (reported). Treat CMS as a Plan B, not a way into a CAPF.
- Age limits, pay and posts change with every walk-in notice. The 2026 notices seen had upper age limits of 67–70 years (reported). Always read the latest notice on the force's own recruitment site.
- Pay in these notices is a fixed monthly amount on contract. It is not a government pay level (reported).
Time and money
| Stage | Time | Government college or body | Private college | Help available |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class 11–12 (PCB, at least 50% in PCB) | 2 years | Your school's fees | — | — |
| NEET UG entrance exam (once a year, for MBBS seat) | 1 day exam | Check the notice | Check the notice | — |
| MBBS degree route (government college) incl. 1-year internship | 5.5 years | Check the college's fee page; AIIMS New Delhi reported about ₹1,628 for whole course | Deemed universities reported ₹10 lakh to ₹30 lakh per year | Not stated on page |
| Medical registration (State Medical Council or NMC) | Done after internship | Check the college's fee page | Check the college's fee page | — |
| Walk-in interview and medical exam (contract GDMO) | 1 day interview, then medical exam | No exam fee and no travel allowance (TA/DA) paid | — | Contract pay ₹75,000 per month (reported); no paid training |
| Optional: MD/MS, DNB or PG diploma for specialist posts | 2–3 years | Check the college's fee page | Check the college's fee page | Not stated on page |
Fees from: MBBS duration, eligibility and fees (secondary summary) · SSB GDMO and Specialist walk-in 2026 (secondary summary of the official notice). Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.
What people earn
Contract pay, not a government pay level. GDMO: ₹75,000 per month. Specialist: ₹85,000 per month in the 2026 SSB and BSF notices. The CRPF GDMO advertisement of 19 Oct 2026 also said ₹75,000. The SSB notice said no government allowances apply. (reported)
Source: SSB GDMO and Specialist walk-in 2026 (secondary summary of the official notice) ↗
Contract pay is a fixed monthly amount that depends mostly on whether you are a GDMO or a specialist, and it does not rise much with city or years of experience. Doctors in private hospitals and other government health jobs can earn quite differently.
Myth and fact
For girls and students with disabilities
The 2026 CRPF and BSF notices invite both male and female doctors. Every selected doctor must pass the force's medical examination, so students with disabilities should check each notice and the medical standards before applying. (reported)
Try it now
- Class 7–9Learn basic first aid (CPR, treating bleeding and burns) from a school nurse, a Red Cross or St John unit, or a free first-aid video, and practise it with friends.
- Class 10–12If you are 15 or older, register on MY Bharat and join a health camp, blood donation drive or cleanliness drive near you. Keep Biology strong and start reading the NCERT Class 11 Biology book.Open link ↗
- College or afterRead one real CAPF doctor walk-in notice on a force recruitment site, such as CRPF. See what documents, age limits and posting places it lists, so you know what to prepare during MBBS.Open link ↗
Good to know
- The UPSC CAPF exam for Assistant Commandants (349 posts in 2026) is for general-duty combat officers, not doctors. Do not mix it up with doctor recruitment (reported).
- In the 2026 notices seen, the pay was a fixed monthly amount and the notices said no government allowances apply (reported). If you want a permanent post with a pension, ask what the force offers before you join. I could not confirm how any regular medical-officer posts are filled this year.
- Postings can be far from home. The CRPF 2026 walk-in listed Prayagraj, Rampur, Srinagar, Jammu and Pune, and the BSF Srinagar notice listed battalion camps in Kashmir (reported).
- Age limits differ by notice. Some 2026 notices allowed up to 67–70 years, so young doctors compete with experienced ones. One BSF Assam notice was reported with a different age range, so read each notice yourself (reported).
Sources: CRPF official advertisement: walk-in interview for GDMOs (2021 edition, crpf.gov.in) · CRPF GDMO walk-in, 2 Dec 2026 (secondary summary of the CRPF advertisement dated 19 Oct 2026) · SSB GDMO and Specialist walk-in 2026 (secondary summary of the SSB notice) · BSF GDMO and Specialist walk-in, Oct 2026 (secondary summary of the BSF notice) · UPSC CMS 2026 notification summary: posts and vacancies · MBBS duration, eligibility and fees (secondary summary of NMC rules)