Government Primary School Teacher (TET)
Teaches Classes 1 to 5 in government schools after clearing the eligibility test.
Facts checked 29/10/2026
Is this for me?
- Watching a child finally read a full sentence or crack a Maths idea
- A steady, respected job in your own district, with fixed holidays
- Being part of a village or neighbourhood that knows you
- Waiting for vacancies: recruitment can be delayed for years, and many people apply for each post
- Postings can be far from home, and transfers depend on state rules
- Large classes, mixed ages in one room, limited resources, and paperwork besides teaching
- Class 11–12 subjects
- Class 12 in any stream (Arts, Commerce, Science), usually with at least 50% marks. Some older rules accept 45%. No particular subject is compulsory. Some states run their own entrance test or have extra rules for D.El.Ed admission, so check your state's notice.
- First degree
- 2-year D.El.Ed (Diploma in Elementary Education) or 4-year B.El.Ed (Bachelor of Elementary Education) after Class 12, from an NCTE-recognised institute. Some states also accept graduation followed by D.El.Ed.
- Entrance exams
- Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) Paper I for Classes 1 to 5. This is either CTET (CBSE) or your state's TET. After that, the state's own recruitment exam or merit list.
- Licence or registration
- A TET pass certificate is mandatory for teaching Classes 1 to 8 under the RTE Act. Passing the TET is only one condition. It does not guarantee a job.
What the work is like
Teaching Hindi/regional language, English, Maths and Environmental Studies to children aged about 6 to 11. Making lesson plans, checking notebooks, keeping attendance, running the mid-day meal and school events, and meeting parents. In small schools, one teacher often handles several classes.
A day in the work
You reach school before assembly and mark attendance. Then you teach three or four periods, switching between a story in Hindi or the local language, a Maths activity with counters, and an English poem. At lunch you help check the mid-day meal and watch the little ones eat. After school you correct notebooks and fill in registers. Some days you also visit a child's home to ask why they have stopped coming.
The path, step by step
- Step 1 · Class 11–12Choose any stream and aim for at least 50% in Class 12, because most teacher-training courses and recruitment notices ask for it. Start practising the skills this work needs: reading aloud, explaining simply, and being patient with younger children. Also check how your state admits students to D.El.Ed. Some states use an entrance test or merit list.
- Step 2 · 2 or 4 years after Class 12Do a 2-year D.El.Ed or a 4-year B.El.Ed from an NCTE-recognised institute. The NCTE rules require a diploma or certificate in basic teacher training of at least two years, or the B.El.Ed, for primary teachers. A B.Ed is not accepted as a substitute for this training under the NCTE 2001 regulations. Some recent notices make exceptions (for example a bridge course), so read each notice carefully.
- Step 3 · TET (final year or after)Pass TET Paper I, either CTET or your state's TET. Candidates who are in the final year of the course can usually appear. CTET Paper I has 150 multiple-choice questions, 2.5 hours, and no negative marking. Child Development and Pedagogy is 30 of the questions. The general pass mark is 60%. Recruiters may give concessions to reserved categories. There is no limit on attempts, and a pass certificate is valid for life.
- Step 4 · Recruitment exam or merit listEach state, and each central body such as KVS or NVS, runs its own recruitment. Some use a written exam, some use TET score and academic marks, and some use both. For example, Uttar Pradesh's 2026 notice (Advt. 05/2026) offered 12,405 primary posts. It had a 120-question written exam on 3–4 December 2026 and an age range of 21–40 (reported). (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 5 · Document verificationThe recruiting body checks your marks, D.El.Ed or B.El.Ed certificate, TET certificate, and any caste or disability certificates. CBSE says clearly that being allowed to sit CTET does not mean your eligibility has been verified. The recruiting agency does that at the end.
- Step 6 · Joining and probationYou get a posting to a government school, often by district counselling or merit. Most states keep new teachers on probation for a period and give some in-service training. The length and rules differ from state to state, so check your state's service rules. (reported — check with the official body)
Ways in
- State government schoolsClass 12 → D.El.Ed or B.El.Ed → state TET (or CTET, if the state accepts it) → state recruitment exam or merit list. This is where most of the vacancies are. Rules, age limits, domicile conditions and pay differ in every state.
- Central schools (KVS, NVS and others)Class 12 with 50% → 2-year D.El.Ed, 4-year B.El.Ed or 2-year Diploma in Special Education → CTET Paper I → KVS or NVS recruitment exam. A KVS notice (2025) also asks for the ability to teach in both Hindi and English. CTET applies to central government schools.
Time and money
| Stage | Time | Government college or body | Private college | Help available |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class 11–12 | 2 years | Your school's fees | — | — |
| D.El.Ed (2-year diploma) at government institute | 2 years | DIET Morigaon (Assam) D.El.Ed: ₹4,700 total (year not stated). DIET Imphal East (Manipur) application fee 2026–28: ₹700 General/OBC, ₹650 SC/ST, nil for PwD | Check the college's fee page | No official scholarship found. Check scholarship.up.gov.in or your state's portal |
| B.El.Ed (4-year degree) at private university | 4 years | Check the college's fee page | K.R. Mangalam University (Gurugram) B.El.Ed: ₹1,35,000 per year (as on May 2026). Sanskriti University (Mathura): ₹40,000 per year (year not stated; confirm with college) | No official scholarship found. Check scholarship.up.gov.in or your state's portal |
| TET: CTET Paper I (one or both papers) | 1 day exam | ₹1,000 for one paper; ₹1,200 for both papers (General/OBC, CTET Feb 2026 bulletin). Check the notice for SC/ST/PwD fees | — | Reserved categories may get concessions in TET qualifying marks; SC/ST/PwD exam fee reduction not confirmed |
| State recruitment exam or merit list | Varies by state | Check the notice | — | Free to check; no paid training. Fees vary by recruiting body |
| Joining and probation (state government school) | Probation period varies by state | Paid job. UP 2026 primary posts: ₹35,400 to ₹1,12,400 per month plus allowances (reported) | — | Paid by the state; probation pay rules differ by state |
Fees from: CBSE CTET Information Bulletin, January 2024 (exam fee) · CBSE CTET February 2026 Information Bulletin (PDF) · DIET Morigaon D.El.Ed admission fee structure · DIET Imphal East D.El.Ed application form · K.R. Mangalam University B.El.Ed course guide · Sanskriti University B.El.Ed programme page. Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.
What people earn
Pay depends on the state or on KVS/NVS. For Uttar Pradesh's 2026 primary recruitment (Advt. 05/2026), Pay Level 6, ₹35,400 to ₹1,12,400, plus allowances (reported; I could not open the official notice). Other states set their own scales, and some start new teachers on a lower fixed amount first, so check the notice of the state you want to work in.
Reported — check the official notice.
Pay depends mostly on the state or employer, with a steady rise through yearly increments and promotions, and allowances change with the posting; a rural posting and a city posting can feel very different.
Myth and fact
For girls and students with disabilities
For reserved categories (SC/ST/OBC/PwBD), recruiters may give a concession in TET qualifying marks. A KVS notice (2025) allows up to 5% relaxation, and it also lists a 2-year Diploma in Special Education as an accepted qualification. Age relaxations and reserved posts for women and persons with disabilities differ by state, so read each notice.
Try it now
- Class 7–9Pick one lesson from a Class 2 or Class 3 NCERT textbook and teach it to a younger child at home or in your neighbourhood. Notice what they find hard and how you explain it differently.Open link ↗
- Class 10–12If you are 15 or older, sign up on MY Bharat and look for a reading or tutoring volunteer activity near you, such as helping younger children at a government school or community centre, with your parents' permission.Open link ↗
- College or afterRead the CTET Paper I syllabus and the latest information bulletin on the official site. Then write down which part of Child Development and Pedagogy you are weakest in.Open link ↗
Good to know
- Qualifying the TET gives no right to a job. The CTET bulletin says it is only one of the eligibility conditions. Vacancies, exam dates and ages are set by each recruiting body.
- CBSE announced the 22nd CTET for 6 September 2026 (notice dated 8 May 2026). A later report says the dates moved to 12–13 December 2026 (reported). Always check ctet.nic.in and your state's TET website for the current schedule.
- Rules on B.Ed and primary teaching have changed and differ between notices. A diploma or B.El.Ed is the safest route if you are sure you want to teach Classes 1 to 5. Read each recruitment notice's eligibility section before you apply.
- A 2026 SCERT Nagaland document says the Supreme Court has given serving teachers until 31 August 2028 to acquire the TET qualification. TET is becoming more important for people already in the job as well.
Sources: CBSE CTET public notice for the 22nd edition (September 2026), dated 8 May 2026 · CBSE CTET Information Bulletin, December 2024 (Paper I structure, eligibility verification) · CBSE CTET Information Bulletin, January 2024 (exam fee) · NCTE minimum qualifications for teachers, Regulations 2001 · NCTE guidelines for the Teacher Eligibility Test (hosted by the Department of School Education and Literacy) · Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan qualification notice for Primary Teacher (2025) · SCERT Nagaland N-TET guidelines (2026): pass marks, lifetime validity, Supreme Court deadline