CENTRAL GOVERNMENT JOBS

RRB NTPC (Station Master, Goods Guard, Clerk)

Work in railway operations, ticketing, goods movement and station management in non-technical roles.

Any stream; Maths and reasoning help After Class 12 Government job

Facts checked 29/10/2026

Is this for me?

People in this work enjoy
  • A steady government job with fixed pay and clear rules
  • Being part of a huge system that keeps trains moving
  • Work that mixes people, papers and schedules rather than pure desk work
It may not suit you if you dislike
  • Night shifts, weekends and festival duty are common in station and train roles
  • You may be posted far from home, and transfers can happen
  • Many people compete for few seats, and vacancies have been falling
Class 11–12 subjects
Any stream in Class 12 is fine. Clerk and ticket-clerk posts need Class 12 pass; the 2026 notice is reported to ask for 50% marks, with exemptions for some categories (reported). Goods Train Manager, Station Master and other graduate-level posts need any bachelor's degree. Maths and reasoning help, because both exams test them.
First degree
No special degree. Clerk posts: Class 12. Goods Train Manager, Station Master, Chief Commercial-cum-Ticket Supervisor and accounts/senior clerk posts: any graduation.
Entrance exams
RRB NTPC, run by the Railway Recruitment Boards (Ministry of Railways): CBT 1, then CBT 2, then a typing test for some posts, then document check and medical.
Licence or registration
None needed to start working.
Open to every streamAny stream; Maths and reasoning help.Check your subjects against every career

What the work is like

Running stations and goods trains, issuing tickets, supervising ticket counters, keeping train and station records, and doing accounts and office work for a railway division.

A day in the work
A Goods Train Manager reports to the yard, checks the train's papers and brake and safety equipment with the loco crew, and then travels with the goods train and keeps the movement records. A ticket clerk opens the counter, handles cash and bookings, and answers travellers' questions, sometimes on a night shift. An accounts or senior clerk sits in a divisional office, checking bills, files and records on a computer. Trains do not stop, so most station and train jobs run in shifts, including nights and holidays.

The path, step by step

  1. Step 1 · Class 11–12Choose any stream. Build speed in Maths (percentages, ratios, simple algebra) and in logical reasoning, and read the news regularly. If you want an office or accounts post, practise typing in English or Hindi. After Class 12 you can apply for clerk posts (the 2026 notice is for 18–30 years, reported). After a degree you can apply for the graduate posts (18–33 years, reported).
  2. Step 2 · When a notice comes outWatch for the Centralised Employment Notice (CEN) from the Railway Recruitment Boards. In 2026 there are two: graduate posts (CEN 06/2026, applications close 6 November 2026) and Class 12 posts (CEN 07/2026, close 13 November 2026). You apply online to one RRB only (reported). The railways have said they will refund part of the exam fee in some cases. (reported — check with the official body)
  3. Step 3 · CBT 1A common computer-based test on General Awareness, Mathematics and Reasoning. It is a screening round. For the graduate posts it is tentatively planned from the fourth week of December 2026 (reported). (reported — check with the official body)
  4. Step 4 · CBT 2 and skill testA longer second computer test on the same three areas, taken by those who clear CBT 1. A typing skill test applied to some clerk posts in 2025. It is reported to be dropped for those posts in 2026, so check the CEN for your post. (reported — check with the official body)
  5. Step 5 · Document check and medicalYou show your original certificates, caste or category certificates if you claim a quota, and ID. Then comes a medical test. Each post has a medical standard, for example A-2 for Goods Train Manager and C-2 for the clerk posts (reported). It includes vision tests, so check the standard for your post before you apply. (reported — check with the official body)
  6. Step 6 · Training and probationSelected candidates get a posting in the railway zone of the RRB they applied to. Training is on the job and at railway training institutes, with a probation period. Pay runs during training. Exact length depends on the post and zone. (reported — check with the official body)
  7. LaterPromotions come through seniority and departmental exams inside the railways. Many staff also prepare for other central government exams while working. (reported — check with the official body)

Ways in

  • After Class 12 (clerk and ticket posts)Starts after: Class 12 pass Apply under the Class 12-level notice (CEN 07/2026 this year). Posts: Commercial cum Ticket Clerk, Accounts Clerk cum Typist, Junior Clerk cum Typist, Trains Clerk. Entry pay is Level 2 or 3 (reported).
  • After graduation (operations, supervision and office posts)Starts after: Any bachelor's degree Apply under the graduate notice (CEN 06/2026). Posts: Goods Train Manager (the old 'Goods Guard'), Chief Commercial cum Ticket Supervisor, Junior Accounts Assistant cum Typist, Senior Clerk cum Typist. Entry pay is Level 5 or 6 (reported).

Time and money

StageTimeGovernment college or bodyPrivate collegeHelp available
Class 11–12 (any stream)2 yearsYour school's fees——
Route A: Class 12 clerk and ticket posts – application to RRB (CEN 07/2026)Till CEN closes (13 November 2026)Application fee ₹500 general; ₹250 SC/ST, women, PwBD, ex-servicemen, minorities, EBC (reported)—Part or all of fee refunded if you appear in CBT 1; ₹250 concession for women, transgender and PwBD (reported)
Route A: CBT 1, CBT 2, document check and medicalSeveral months (reported)No tuition fee; exam route has no extra cost beyond application fee—Free to take; training after selection is paid by the railways (pay runs during training)
Route A: Training and probation as railway employeeDepends on post and zone (not stated)Free; pay runs during training. Entry pay ₹19,900–21,700 basic (reported)—Paid training, as you are already an employee
Route B: Graduation (any bachelor's degree)3 years (typical bachelor's length; check your course)Check the college's fee pageCheck the college's fee page—
Route B: Graduate posts – application to RRB (CEN 06/2026)Till CEN closes (6 November 2026)Application fee ₹500 general; ₹250 SC/ST, women, PwBD, ex-servicemen, minorities, EBC (reported)—Part or all of fee refunded if you appear in CBT 1; ₹250 concession for women, transgender and PwBD (reported)
Route B: CBT 1, CBT 2, document check and medicalSeveral months (reported)No tuition fee; exam route has no extra cost beyond application fee—Free to take; training after selection is paid by the railways (pay runs during training)
Route B: Training and probation as railway employeeDepends on post and zone (not stated)Free; pay runs during training. Entry pay ₹29,200–35,400 basic (reported)—Paid training, as you are already an employee
Total timeAbout 1 year after Class 12 for clerk posts; about 4 years after Class 12 for graduate posts (reported timelines)
Total costThe exam route costs only the application fee of ₹250–500 per application, plus the cost of any degree you choose.
Good to knowTraining after selection is paid by the railways, and Station Master is not in the 2026 graduate notice, so check the RRB website for the latest CEN.

Fees from: PIB (Ministry of Railways): NTPC Graduate 2026, fee refund provisions. Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.

What people earn

Official pay

7th CPC pay levels: Level 2 (₹19,900 basic) for Accounts Clerk, Junior Clerk and Trains Clerk; Level 3 (₹21,700) for Commercial cum Ticket Clerk; Level 5 (₹29,200) for Goods Train Manager, Junior Accounts Assistant and Senior Clerk; Level 6 (₹35,400) for Chief Commercial cum Ticket Supervisor. All are basic pay plus allowances (reported; check the CEN for your post).

Source: PIB (Ministry of Railways): NTPC Graduate 2026 announcement. Pay figures here are reported; confirm them in the CEN. ↗

Pay starts at a fixed government level and rises with promotions and years of service, and allowances such as house rent depend on the city you are posted to.

Myth and fact

Myth: RRB NTPC always has tens of thousands of vacancies, so it is an easy government job.
Fact: Vacancies change each cycle. In 2026 the Ministry of Railways announced 3,548 graduate-level posts (PIB), and exam-news sites report it was far larger in 2019 (reported). Many lakh candidates compete, so treat it as one good option, not your only plan.

For girls and students with disabilities

Fee concession (₹250) for women, transgender candidates and PwBD candidates, and age relaxation for PwBD (10–15 years by category) and for widowed, divorced or separated women, are reported in the 2026 notice (reported). Medical standards differ by post, so check the CEN to see which posts suit your disability or health condition.

Try it now

  • Class 7–9Pick a train journey you know and trace it on a railway map. Note the stations, junctions and where goods and passenger trains share the track. Ask what a station master or guard does along the way.
  • Class 10–12Do 20 minutes a day of NCERT Maths (percentage, ratio, averages) and a few logical-reasoning puzzles. Read one news page daily to build general awareness.Open link ↗
  • College or afterPractise typing for 15 minutes a day on any free typing tutor to build speed and accuracy. Then read the latest RRB notice (CEN) in full, as if you were applying.

Good to know

  • 'Goods Guard' is now called Goods Train Manager. It is the biggest post in the 2026 graduate notice, with 2,750 of 3,548 vacancies (PIB, Ministry of Railways, October 2026).
  • Station Master is not in the 2026 graduate notice (CEN 06/2026). Exam-news sites report that it is coming in a separate notification (CEN 08/2026), so check the RRB website for the real notice (reported).
  • NTPC notices come out in cycles and the number of posts changes a lot each time. Always read the latest CEN on the official RRB website for age, fee, posts and dates.
  • You are posted wherever the railway needs staff in your RRB's region. Station and ticket jobs often run in shifts.

If it doesn't work out

Careers that use the same subjects and preparation.

Stuck choosing? Talk it through free — 20 minutes