CAPF Constable (Tradesman: cook, carpenter, tailor, etc.)
Serve in a paramilitary force using a skilled trade such as cooking, carpentry, barbering or cobbling.
Facts checked 29/10/2026
Is this for me?
- Using a hands-on skill every day and being useful to a whole team
- A steady central government job with a uniform and a clear pay scale
- Discipline, group life and the pride of serving in a force
- Postings far from home, including remote or border areas, and frequent transfers
- A running test, a written test and a trade test, all of which you must clear, and a long, uncertain recruitment cycle
- Early mornings, long or odd hours, and hierarchy, with less choice about where you work
- Class 11–12 subjects
- Class 10 (Matriculation) pass from a recognised board. Any stream is fine, because the job starts after Class 10. Some trades also need a trade qualification. In the BSF 2025 round (reported), carpenter, plumber, painter and electrician needed a 2-year ITI, or a 1-year ITI plus experience. Cook needed an NSQF food-production course (reported). Cobbler, tailor, barber and washerman needed proof of skill and a trade test (reported).
- First degree
- No degree needed. A 1–2 year ITI certificate in your trade helps for the technical trades.
- Entrance exams
- Each force runs its own recruitment: CRPF, BSF and CISF. The stages are a physical test, a computer-based written test and a trade test. The order differs by force and year.
- Licence or registration
- None needed to start working.
What the work is like
Doing your trade for the force: cooking for a battalion, stitching, carpentry, barbering, repairs, washing and cleaning, and similar work. You live and work in force camps and battalions. Postings can be far from home, and some are in border or remote areas.
A day in the work
A cook in a battalion mess might wake before sunrise to prepare breakfast for a whole company, then plan lunch and dinner and keep the kitchen clean. A carpenter or tailor spends the day on repair and making jobs for the unit, such as furniture, uniforms or fittings. Between jobs, tradesmen keep up fitness with morning PT and drills, and follow camp discipline. Duty hours can stretch during operations, festivals or when the unit moves.
The path, step by step
- Step 1 · Class 9–10, then ITI or trade practicePass Class 10. Then pick your trade. For carpenter, painter or electrician, an ITI certificate (1–2 years) is usually asked for. For cook, barber, tailor or cobbler, you need real working skill and proof of it. Check each notice, because the trade rules differ by force.
- Step 2 · When a notice comes outApply online on the force's own recruitment portal. Notices are irregular. CRPF's 2026 window ran from 20 April to 19 May 2026 for 9,175 Constable (Technical & Tradesmen) posts. CRPF fills these posts state by state, so you need a domicile certificate for the state you apply under. Female posts are very few: 79 of the 9,175.
- Step 3 · Physical standards and running test (PST/PET)Height and chest are measured, then you run. In CRPF's 2026 round (reported), men in trades such as carpenter, painter, cobbler and tailor had to run 5 km in 24 minutes. Cook, water carrier, barber and washerman had a shorter 1.6 km run in 10 minutes. Women had 1.6 km in 8.5 or 12 minutes, depending on the trade. The minimum height for men in CRPF's 2026 round was about 170 cm, with relaxations (reported). BSF's 2025 round asked for 165 cm for men and 155 cm for women, with relaxations (reported). (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 4 · Written test (computer-based)CRPF's CBT is reported to be 100 marks in 2 hours: reasoning, general knowledge, elementary maths, and English or Hindi, with negative marking. CRPF's own notice says final selection is on CBT marks. Class 10 level questions are enough, but you must practise speed. (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 5 · Trade testA practical test in your own trade, such as cooking a meal, stitching, or making a joint. It is reported to be qualifying in nature (about 20 marks needed out of 50). You must pass it, but it does not add to your rank. (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 6 · Document check and medicalOriginal certificates (Class 10, domicile, caste, ITI or experience) are checked. Then comes a detailed medical examination. Any mismatch in documents or failing the medical can end your candidature.
- Step 7 · Training and probationSelected recruits go to the force's training centre for basic training as paid constables. After that they are posted to a unit. The service starts with a probation period. The length of training and probation is in the force's recruitment rules, so check the notice.
Ways in
- CRPFConstable (Technical & Tradesmen): vacancies are state/UT-wise. Many trades, including driver, mechanic, cook, carpenter, barber, cobbler, painter and bandsmen. PET first, then CBT, trade test, document check and medical (2026 notice).
- BSFConstable (Tradesman), Group C. In 2025 there were 3,588 posts (3,406 male, 182 female), with cook, water carrier, sweeper and washerman making up most posts (reported). Carpenter had only 38 male posts (reported).
- CISFConstable (Tradesman) recruitment 2024 (1,161 posts, reported). Its written test is tentatively fixed for 1 December 2026 (reported), which shows how long a cycle can run.
Time and money
| Stage | Time | Government college or body | Private college | Help available |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class 11–12 and ITI or trade skill (trade-dependent) | 1–2 years | Government ITI: fee not stated on page. Check the college's fee page | Check the college's fee page | Paid government training not stated on page. ITI needed for carpenter, painter, electrician |
| Application (CRPF, BSF or CISF notice) | About 1 month window | Application fee ₹100 for general/OBC/EWS male (reported); SC/ST and women exempt in CRPF 2026 (reported) | — | SC/ST and women exempt from fee in CRPF 2026 round (reported) |
| Physical test (PST/PET), written CBT and trade test | Depends on the notice; cycle can exceed 1 year | No fee for these tests stated on page. Check the notice | — | — |
| Document check and medical | Part of the same selection cycle | No fee stated on page. Check the notice | — | — |
| Training and probation as a constable | Length in force's recruitment rules. Check the notice | Training is paid; you draw a constable's salary | — | Paid training. Pay Level 3, ₹21,700–69,100 plus allowances (CRPF 2023 notice) |
Fees from: CRPF recruitment portal (rect.crpf.gov.in) · CRPF advertisement 2026. Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.
What people earn
Pay Level 3, ₹21,700–69,100 (7th CPC) plus allowances. This is from CRPF's official 2023 notice. The 2026 notices of CRPF, BSF and CISF are reported to carry the same level (reported).
Pay starts at the constable level and rises slowly with years of service, promotions and allowances. Postings in hard or remote areas, and living in force accommodation, change how much you take home and how much you spend.
Myth and fact
For girls and students with disabilities
Women can apply, but posts are few and trade-wise. In CRPF's 2026 notice, 79 of 9,175 posts were for women, and the government encourages women to apply. The height standard and running time are lower for women, and the fee was reported as exempt (reported). Some states, tribal areas and hill regions get height relaxations. I could not confirm any specific vacancies or relaxations for candidates with disabilities in these notices, so read each notice.
Try it now
- Class 7–9Learn one basic trade skill at home this month: cook a full simple meal, stitch a button and a hem, or make a small wooden item with an adult's help. Also start a short daily walk or jog.
- Class 10–12Aim to pass Class 10 well. Visit a government ITI near you and ask which 1–2 year trades they run and how admission works. Practise running 1.6 km and note your time every week.
- College or afterJoin a free MY Bharat volunteering activity if you are 15 or older, or join your school's NCC. It builds discipline and teamwork. Pick one trade and practise it for at least 30 minutes a day.Open link ↗
Good to know
- Each force publishes its own notice, age limit, trade list and stage order. Read the latest notice on the force's own recruitment portal before you apply or train. Ignore unofficial sites and agents.
- Age limits and the cut-off date can change. CRPF's 2026 round was reported as 18–23 years for most trades, with relaxation for SC/ST (5 years) and OBC (3 years). A later amendment is reported to have moved the cut-off date to 1 August 2026.
- A full cycle, from notice to joining, can take more than a year. The BSF 2025 round was still in its written-test stage in mid-2026 (reported). Plan a side income or skill-building while you wait.
- Cook, water carrier, washerman, sweeper and barber posts are many. Carpenter, plumber, electrician and tailor posts are fewer, so check the post-wise vacancy table in each notice.