ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY

Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME)

Inspects, repairs and certifies aircraft as safe to fly.

Physics, Chemistry and Maths needed After Class 12 Regulated profession

Facts checked 29/10/2026

Is this for me?

People in this work enjoy
  • Working with your hands on real machines, and fixing hard faults
  • Knowing the aircraft you signed off carried passengers safely
  • Aviation careers that can lead to airlines, helicopter operators and maintenance companies
It may not suit you if you dislike
  • Night shifts, holidays and work outdoors in heat, cold or rain
  • Careful paperwork and a licence with legal responsibility, where one mistake can matter
  • Several years of exams and experience before you get the full licence, and private course fees that can be high
Class 11–12 subjects
Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics from a recognised board, or an equivalent qualification. DGCA's own exam FAQ says the same. A pass is enough for DGCA; individual institutes may ask for more. Biology cannot replace Maths. You can register for DGCA exams from age 16, and the licence itself needs you to be at least 18.
First degree
No degree is needed. You do a DGCA-approved CAR-147 basic AME course, usually 2 to 3 years depending on the institute. It gives a certificate of recognition, not a degree and not a licence. Some institutes offer AME together with a B.Sc, BBA or B.Tech (reported). Check that any degree is from a recognised university.
Entrance exams
DGCA CAR-66 module exams. These are online papers run by DGCA's Central Examination Organisation through the Pariksha portal. 2026 regular sessions: 10–14 March, 16–20 June, 22–26 September and 15–19 December. There are also on-demand sessions, including 18–20 November 2026. There is no single national entrance exam for the course itself. Each institute sets its own admission process (reported).
Licence or registration
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) licence from DGCA under CAR-66 and Rule 61 of the Aircraft Rules, 1937. Only a licensed engineer can sign the certificate that releases an aircraft to service. The licence is issued by category (for example B1 mechanical or B2 avionics). To certify work on a specific aircraft type, the licence must also be endorsed for that type.
Subjects that keep this door openClass 11–12: Physics + Chemistry + Mathematics.Physics, Chemistry and Maths needed.Way back: You can add the missing subject later as an extra subject (for example through NIOS) and still apply, but check the exam's and college's rules. A longer road, but open.Check your subjects against every career

What the work is like

Inspecting aircraft, finding and fixing faults in engines, structure, electrical and avionics systems, replacing parts, reading maintenance manuals, keeping exact records, and signing that the aircraft is fit to fly. Work happens in hangars and on the airport apron, often at night.

A day in the work
You reach the hangar before the shift briefing and read the work cards for the aircraft you are checking. You open panels, inspect engines and wiring, test systems and replace worn parts, always following the manual step by step. Every task is written in the logbook with your signature. Late in the shift, a licensed engineer signs the aircraft fit to fly. That signature is a legal responsibility, and the work often runs at night, on weekends and in all weather.

Professional qualificationRun by Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA), Ministry of Civil Aviation. You can start after: Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics (or equivalent). Minimum time: Roughly 4–6 years after Class 12: the course, the exams and the required experience (reported).

The full route: exams, training, registration

  1. Step 1 · Class 11–12Take Physics, Chemistry and Maths in Class 11–12 and pass Class 12. DGCA's rule for sitting AME exams is a Class 12 pass in PCM, or an equivalent qualification. Institutes also ask for a medical fitness certificate, and many check colour vision (reported). Get this checked early.
  2. Step 2 · After Class 12Choose a DGCA-approved CAR-147 institute and a category. B1 is mechanical (airframe and engines). B2 is avionics (electrical and electronic systems). Each institute is approved only for certain categories, so check its DGCA approval certificate and the DGCA list of approved CAR-147 organisations before paying anything. Admission is handled by each institute.
  3. Step 3 · About 2–3 yearsDo the basic AME course: classroom theory, practical workshop training and internal exams. The minimum is 2,400 hours for B1.1, B1.3, B1.4 and B2, and 2,000 hours for B1.2 (reported, from a CAR-147 summary). Practical training often happens at a partner maintenance organisation. At the end you get a certificate of recognition. (reported — check with the official body)
  4. Step 4 · During or after the courseGet a DGCA Computer Number, then apply for CAR-66 module exams on the Pariksha portal. You can pick one category per session and up to 5 module papers. You get at most 3 consecutive attempts per paper, then a 1-year wait before the next set of attempts. Fee on DGCA's AME FAQ page is ₹1,500 per paper (regular) and ₹3,000 (on-demand). That page looks old, so confirm on the portal.
  5. Step 5 · Years of workGain documented hands-on experience on real aircraft in a DGCA-approved maintenance organisation (CAR-145). CAR-66 asks for around 5 years for most B1 and B2 licences. Finishing an approved CAR-147 course cuts this to about 2 years for B1.1, B1.3 and B2, and 1 year for B1.2 and B1.4 (reported). Check the current CAR-66 text. (reported — check with the official body)
  6. Step 6 · LicenceApply to DGCA for your AME licence once the exams and experience are done. You must be at least 18. The licence is valid only once DGCA issues it, and it needs to be kept valid and renewed.
  7. Step 7 · OngoingAdd type ratings. To certify work on a particular aircraft type, your licence must be endorsed for that type after type training and an exam. Your employer usually arranges this.

Ways in

  • B1 – MechanicalStructure, engines and mechanical systems. B1.1 is for jet aeroplanes. B1.2 is for piston aeroplanes. B1.3 and B1.4 are for helicopters. B1.1 is the most common choice for airline work (reported).
  • B2 – AvionicsElectrical, instrument, radio and navigation systems. Good if you like electronics more than engines.
  • AME combined with a degreeSome institutes offer AME along with a B.Sc, BBA or B.Tech (reported). This takes longer. It can help if you want a degree as a backup, but check that the degree is from a recognised university.
Recently changed, or still changing
  • DGCA's 2026 Programme of Examinations lists 4 regular sessions and 8 on-demand sessions a year. Dates and fees are set each year, so check the Pariksha portal before you apply.
  • CAR-66 has been revised several times (Issue III, April 2024 is the latest we saw). Experience and syllabus rules can change, so use the current version on dgca.gov.in.

Time and money

StageTimeGovernment college or bodyPrivate collegeHelp available
Class 11–12 (PCM, medical fitness check)2 yearsYour school's feesYour school's fees—
Basic AME course, B1 or B2 (CAR-147, institute-set admission)2–3 yearsCheck the college's fee page; no government college fee on pageIndira Institute, Pune (AY 2026-27): AME B1.1/B2 + B.Sc total ₹7,95,000 including ₹1,80,000 practical training fee; Hiet, Chennai (2025-26): tuition ₹2,50,000 (year 1), ₹2,00,000 (year 2), ₹50,000 (year 3); practical training extraNo official scholarship or stipend found on page
DGCA CAR-66 module exams (per paper)1 day exam per paper₹1,500 per paper regular; ₹3,000 on-demand (DGCA FAQ, may be outdated; confirm on portal)₹1,500 per paper regular; ₹3,000 on-demand (DGCA FAQ, may be outdated; confirm on portal)—
Hands-on experience at approved maintenance organisation (CAR-145)About 2 years after approved CAR-147 course (reported)Check the notice; pay not stated on pageCheck the notice; pay not stated on pageNot stated on page
AME licence application and type ratingsVaries; type ratings usually arranged by employerCheck the notice for DGCA licence feeCheck the notice for DGCA licence feeType ratings usually arranged by employer (not stated as paid or free)
Total timeAbout 4–6 years after Class 12 (reported)
Total costPrivate AME courses often cost several lakh rupees, e.g. ₹7,95,000 at Indira Institute, Pune, plus DGCA exam fees of ₹1,500 per paper.
Good to knowMost AME institutes are private, and practical training may be charged separately, so ask for the full cost in writing before paying.

Fees from: DGCA Pariksha – AME FAQs (exam fees) · DGCA Pariksha – AME User Manual (fee per paper) · Indira Institute of Aircraft Engineering Pune – Fee Structure 2026 (official college page) · Indira Institute of Aircraft Engineering Pune – AME BSc Fees 2026 (official PDF) · HIET Chennai – AME fees structure 2025-26 (official college page) · FIAME – AME course fee structure (official college page, year not stated). Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.

What people earn

Pay starts modest while you are gaining your required experience, then rises with your licence category, type ratings and years of experience, and it differs a lot between airlines, maintenance companies, helicopter operators and cities.

Myth and fact

Myth: After the AME course you are a licensed engineer and can sign aircraft off.
Fact: The course gives only a certificate of recognition. The licence comes after you pass DGCA's module exams and complete the required hands-on experience.

Try it now

  • Class 7–9Build a simple foam or balsa glider. Bend the wing flaps up and down and note how the flight changes. Then watch a plane on the ground at an airport viewing area and spot the moving parts on the wings.
  • Class 10–12Plan for Physics, Chemistry and Maths in Class 11–12. This month, read DGCA's AME FAQ page to see exactly what is asked of AME candidates, and browse free aerospace courses on NPTEL.Open link ↗
  • College or afterLook up DGCA's list of approved CAR-147 basic training organisations. For two or three institutes, check which categories they are approved for, whether they can conduct exams, and where their practical training happens.Open link ↗

Good to know

  • The course is not a degree and not a licence. The licence comes only after DGCA exams plus practical experience.
  • Only DGCA-approved CAR-147 institutes count. Each approval certificate lists the categories the institute may train for, and some institutes are not permitted to conduct exams. Read it before you pay.
  • Many institutes ask for normal colour vision and a medical certificate, because the work depends on reading wiring colours and inspecting parts (reported). Ask the institute for its medical form early.
  • Licence privileges stop if the licence is not kept valid. CAR-66 asks holders to get it re-verified every 5 years and to keep recent work experience (reported).

If it doesn't work out

Careers that use the same subjects and preparation.

Stuck choosing? Talk it through free — 20 minutes