Expressive Arts / Dance Movement Therapist
Uses art, music, drama or dance to support emotional healing in clinics, schools and care homes.
Facts checked 29/10/2026
Is this for me?
- Seeing a shy child or a withdrawn adult open up through art or movement
- Using your own creative skills in a caring, useful way
- Working in a team with teachers, doctors and families
- Some sessions deal with grief, abuse or trauma, which can be heavy to carry home
- Training takes several years and many courses are in English and paid
- Income can be uncertain, especially at the start, and there is no fixed pay scale
- Class 11–12 subjects
- Class 12 in any stream. Then any bachelor's degree. A psychology degree helps but is not always required. Some courses also ask for an interest in dance, movement or other art forms.
- First degree
- Any bachelor's degree (3 years), then a diploma, PG diploma or master's in art or dance movement therapy. A TISS diploma takes about 1 year; the PG diploma adds about 6 months more.
- Entrance exams
- No national entry exam. Most courses use an application, an interview and a movement or demonstration session.
- Licence or registration
- None needed to start working.
What the work is like
Running guided art, dance or movement sessions for people with stress, trauma, disability, autism or grief. Work happens in clinics, schools, special-needs centres, old-age homes, hospitals and community groups. Sessions are often part of a team with doctors, counsellors and teachers.
A day in the work
A morning might start with a session at a special-needs school, where children use drawing or movement to show feelings they cannot yet put into words. After lunch you might write notes on each child and talk with the teacher or a psychologist on the team. The afternoon could be a group session at an old-age home, with simple dance or music that gets people moving and talking. The day usually ends with records, planning and a little time to rest, because the work is tiring.
The path, step by step
- Step 1 · Class 11–12Any stream works. Psychology, Biology or a arts subject helps you understand people and creative work. Keep up your own dance, art, music or drama practice.
- Step 2 · After Class 12Take a bachelor's degree in any subject. Psychology, Fine Arts, Performing Arts or Social Work are the most useful choices for later courses.
- Step 3 · During or after the degreeTake a recognised diploma or PG diploma in dance movement therapy or art therapy. TISS Mumbai and Kolkata offer a university-linked course that can exit at diploma level. (reported — check with the official body)
- Step 4 · Course periodDo supervised fieldwork in real settings such as hospitals, schools or homes. Most courses also require personal therapy for the trainee, and a research project.
- Step 5 · OptionalTake a master's in psychology, an MA or MFA in art therapy, or a specialised certificate. A master's helps if you want to work in clinical settings alongside psychologists.
- Step 6 · PracticeBuild experience through school, NGO or hospital work. India has no national licence or register for this work yet, so check each employer's and course's own standards.
Ways in
- Diploma or PG diploma in dance movement therapyFull-time, university-linked courses such as the TISS programme. Admission is by degree, interest and interview.
- Master's in art therapyAn MFA in Art Therapy is offered at MIT-ADT University in Pune. It is the most rigorous route for independent practice.
- Short certificate coursesOnline or short courses for teachers, counsellors and psychologists. They add art-based tools to existing work but do not on their own make you a full therapist.
Time and money
| Stage | Time | Government college or body | Private college | Help available |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class 11–12 (any stream) | 2 years | Your school's fees | Your school's fees | — |
| Bachelor's degree (any subject, route to diploma) | 3 years | Check the college's fee page | Check the college's fee page | — |
| Diploma in dance movement therapy (TISS, university-linked, reported) | 1 year | Check the college's fee page (TISS prospectus 2023–24 fee not confirmed) | — | Reserved seats for SC, ST, OBC and 3% for persons with disabilities, per government rules |
| PG diploma in dance movement therapy (TISS, reported) | 1.5 years | Check the college's fee page (TISS prospectus 2023–24 fee not confirmed) | East West Center for Counselling Diploma: ₹1,53,400 total (year not stated) | — |
| Diploma in Expressive Arts Therapy (private, East West Center) | Check the college's fee page | — | ₹1,30,000 tuition + ₹23,400 GST = ₹1,53,400 total; ₹2,360 non-refundable application fee | — |
| Master's in art therapy (MFA, MIT-ADT University Pune) | Check the college's fee page | Check the college's fee page | Check the college's fee page | — |
| Practice: school, NGO or hospital work | 6–12 months | No licence or registration needed yet | — | Paid or unpaid; pay not stated on the page |
Fees from: TISS Diploma and PG Diploma in Dance Movement Therapy prospectus (2023–24) · Career guidance page on dance therapist (reported fee range) · East West Center for Counselling: Diploma in Expressive Arts Therapy fees and payment structure. Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.
What people earn
Income depends heavily on the setting, your qualification and whether you work salaried in an institution or run your own sessions, and it can start low and grow slowly with experience and a reputation.
Myth and fact
For girls and students with disabilities
The TISS programme reserves seats for SC, ST and OBC candidates as per government rules, and 3% of seats for persons with disabilities, across its programmes. Some TISS places are also set aside for candidates from marginalised backgrounds in Kolkata.
Try it now
- Class 7–9Keep a simple feelings journal for one month. Draw or doodle how you felt each day, then notice what helped you calm down.
- Class 10–12Take a free introductory psychology or counselling course on SWAYAM, and note how creative activities are used in one of its lessons.Open link ↗
- College or afterVolunteer for one term with a school, hospital, NGO or old-age home that runs art or music activities. Ask to help with a group session and observe how it is run.Open link ↗
Good to know
- There is no statutory register for art or dance movement therapists in India yet. Anyone can offer 'expressive arts' sessions, so the course's quality and your own ethics matter a lot.
- Clinical work with trauma or mental illness needs psychology training and supervised practice. Be careful about what you promise families.
- Courses vary a lot. Ask about supervised practice hours, personal therapy requirements and faculty qualifications before you join.
Sources: TISS Diploma and PG Diploma in Dance Movement Therapy prospectus (2023–24) · TISS admissions page, Diploma and PG Diploma in Dance Movement Therapy (2024–25) · Kolkata Sanved, TISS-linked DMT programme page · Therapy Route: academic credentials for mental health professionals in India (secondary source on regulation)