HEALTH AND MEDICINE

Occupational Therapist

Helps people with physical, mental or developmental difficulties regain skills for daily living, school and work.

Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English needed After Class 12 Regulated profession

Facts checked 29/10/2026

Is this for me?

People in this work enjoy
  • Seeing a person slowly manage a task they could not do before, like eating, writing or dressing
  • Being creative: using games, crafts and everyday objects as treatment
  • Working with children, adults and older people, and with doctors, teachers and families
It may not suit you if you dislike
  • Progress can be slow, and some patients do not get better. This can be emotionally tiring.
  • About 4.5 to 5 years of study with long clinical postings and a compulsory internship, before you start earning
  • Hands-on work: lifting, standing and helping patients move. Awareness of OT is still low in many places, so you may need to explain your role often.
Class 11–12 subjects
Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English. Colleges asked for about 50% marks in PCB, or 40% for reserved categories (reported by colleges following NCAHP norms). You must be at least 17 years old at admission, and some colleges ask for a medical fitness certificate.
First degree
Bachelor of Occupational Therapy (BOT). It takes 4 years of study plus an internship. Older university rules count this as 4.5 years (6-month internship). Newer NCAHP-style programmes run 4 years plus a 1-year internship, so 5 years in all. Optional MOT (master's) after that.
Entrance exams
This depends on the year and college. NCAHP planned to make NEET-UG compulsory for BOT from 2026–27. It has reportedly been put off to 2027–28, so some colleges and states used their own entrance tests or Class 12 marks in 2026. Check the exact rule for your admission year (reported).
Licence or registration
Registration in the State Register of allied and healthcare professionals under the NCAHP Act, 2021. The registration certificate is valid for five years and must then be renewed.
Subjects that keep this door openClass 11–12: Physics + Chemistry + Biology.Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English needed.Way back: You can add the missing subject later as an extra subject (for example through NIOS) and still apply, but check the exam's and college's rules. A longer road, but open.Check your subjects against every career

What the work is like

Assessing what a person finds hard in daily life, then training them to do it again or in a new way. Working with children with developmental delay or autism, stroke and accident survivors, people with mental health conditions, and older adults. Making splints and aids, and suggesting changes to homes, classrooms and workplaces.

A day in the work
You start by reading the notes of the patients you will see today. A morning session might be with a 6-year-old who struggles to hold a pencil, using play and games to build hand strength. Later you help a stroke patient practise buttoning a shirt and making tea on the ward. In the afternoon you make a splint, meet parents or a teacher to plan changes at home or school, and write up your notes.

Professional qualificationRun by National Commission for Allied and Healthcare Professions (NCAHP) and its Occupational Therapy Professional Council, with State Allied and Healthcare Councils. You can start after: Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry, Biology and English. Minimum time: About 4.5 to 5 years after Class 12, including internship.

The full route: exams, training, registration

  1. Step 1 · Class 10–11Choose the Science stream with Physics, Chemistry and Biology, and keep English strong. Colleges ask for English as a passing subject. Maths alone, or 'Physical Science' instead of separate Physics and Chemistry, is not enough for many universities.
  2. Step 2 · Class 12Pass Class 12 with PCB and English. Aim for at least 50% in PCB (40% for reserved categories at many colleges). You must be 17 or older when you join.
  3. Step 3 · After Class 12Get admission. NEET-UG was planned as compulsory for BOT from 2026–27, but this has reportedly been deferred to 2027–28. If you join in 2027 or later, check whether NEET applies. Some private universities run their own test; for example, Manipal combines its own entrance test (50%) with Class 12 marks (50%). (reported — check with the official body)
  4. Step 4 · 4 yearsStudy anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, the basics of occupational therapy, then neurology, paediatrics, psychiatry, orthopaedics and ergonomics. Clinical fieldwork in hospitals and centres runs alongside the classes. You need at least 75% attendance to sit the exams in most universities.
  5. Step 5 · 6 months to 1 yearCompulsory rotating internship in a teaching hospital. You work in orthopaedics, neurology, medicine, surgery, paediatrics, psychiatry, and community or PHC postings. No degree certificate is given until it is done. (reported — check with the official body)
  6. Step 6Register with your State Allied and Healthcare Council under the NCAHP Act, 2021. Renew every five years.
  7. OptionalMOT (Master of Occupational Therapy) in a speciality such as paediatrics, neurology or mental health. A master's is also needed to teach at a college.
Recently changed, or still changing
  • NEET-UG was prescribed for BOT admission from 2026–27, but it has reportedly been deferred to 2027–28 (reported). Check the rule for your year.
  • Registration is valid for five years and must be renewed under the NCAHP Act, 2021.
  • Newer NCAHP-aligned BOT programmes run 4 years plus a 1-year internship. Older university rules say 4 years plus 6 months.

Time and money

StageTimeGovernment college or bodyPrivate collegeHelp available
Class 11–12 (Science with PCB and English)2 yearsYour school's feesYour school's fees—
Entrance exam: NEET-UG or college/university test (reported)1 day examCheck the noticeCheck the notice—
BOT degree, 4 years, private route (Manipal)4 yearsCheck the college's fee page₹12,58,000 total programme fee, paid in 4 yearly instalments, plus ₹10,000 refundable caution deposit (Manipal, 2026 admissions)Nagaland common scholarship portal (2024 cycle); stipend amount not stated, check eligibility
BOT degree, 4 years, private route (DY Patil)4 yearsCheck the college's fee page₹2,75,000 per year (DY Patil, 2026-27), for a 4-year course plus 6-month internshipNagaland common scholarship portal (2024 cycle); stipend amount not stated, check eligibility
Compulsory rotating internship in a teaching hospital6 months to 1 yearCheck the college's fee pageCheck the college's fee page—
Registration with State Allied and Healthcare Council (NCAHP Act, 2021)Valid 5 years, then renewCheck the noticeCheck the notice—
Total timeAbout 4.5 to 5 years after Class 12, including internship
Total costGovernment fees are not confirmed on the page; private fees range from ₹2,75,000 per year (DY Patil) to ₹12,58,000 total (Manipal), plus extra costs for hostel, food and books.
Good to knowCheck whether NEET-UG applies for your admission year, since it has reportedly been deferred to 2027–28, and ask each college about scholarships.

Fees from: Manipal College of Health Professions – BOT fees and admissions page · DY Patil - Bachelor of Occupational Therapy (fee structure 2026-27) · Nagaland Health & Family Welfare - Scholarship scheme for medical, nursing & paramedical students. Fees change every year — check the college's own fee page before you pay.

What people earn

Pay is modest at the start and grows with experience, a master's degree and a speciality. It varies a lot between big-city hospitals, small-town clinics, government posts, schools and private practice.

Myth and fact

Myth: Occupational therapy is only about helping people find jobs.
Fact: In OT, 'occupation' means every activity of daily life: eating, dressing, playing, studying, working. An OT helps a child hold a spoon, a stroke patient cook again, or an adult return to work.

For girls and students with disabilities

Many colleges ask for 40% in PCB instead of 50% for reserved categories (reported). Some colleges also ask for a medical fitness certificate at admission. I did not find official rules on seats for girls or students with disabilities, so ask each college.

Try it now

  • Class 7–9Try daily tasks the hard way for 10 minutes: write, button a shirt or open a jar using only your non-dominant hand. Then think about how you could make each task easier for someone who finds it hard.
  • Class 10–12With a parent's help, ask a special school, a rehabilitation centre or a hospital OT department if you can visit or volunteer for a day. Watch what an OT does. If you are 15 or older, look for volunteering options on MY Bharat.Open link ↗
  • College or afterLook through free courses on anatomy, physiology or psychology on SWAYAM, and read the BOT syllabus of two universities to see what you will study.Open link ↗

Good to know

  • An occupational therapist is not a medical doctor (not an MBBS). NCAHP has reportedly recommended the title 'Dr' with the suffix 'OT'. OTs cannot prescribe medicines or do surgery (reported).
  • Do not confuse it with physiotherapy. Physiotherapy mostly works on movement and pain. Occupational therapy works on the daily tasks of life: eating, dressing, writing, playing, working, travelling.
  • Course names and duration differ between universities. Before joining, check that the college is recognised by its university and meets NCAHP norms.
  • If BOT does not work out, related paths include physiotherapy, special education and prosthetics and orthotics.

If it doesn't work out

Careers that use the same subjects and preparation.

Stuck choosing? Talk it through free — 20 minutes